Speak app review: is it good for Chinese, and how do Praktika and Talkpal compare?
Our Speak app review for Mandarin: what its new Chinese course covers, whether it checks your tones, and how Praktika and Talkpal compare on price.

Speak added Chinese on 2 June 2026. Of the two Speak reviews at the top of our search, one never mentions Chinese and the other lists it in passing.
This review is for you if you want an AI app to practise speaking Chinese, and you're choosing between Speak, Praktika and Talkpal. We read each app's own pages, App Store listing and help articles on 16 October 2026. SayMei, which publishes this guide, makes a speaking app too, so we show where it fits and where it loses.
Key takeaways
- Only Speak teaches a Chinese course. Praktika and Talkpal are conversation apps that treat Chinese as one language among many.
- Speak's course is new and stops early. It runs from zero to intermediate, the B1 level, and promised more that we haven't seen.
- No app here shows it can check your tones. Speak teaches them, Talkpal claims it only on its blog, and Praktika never mentions them.
- Talkpal is the one to try free. Its free plan gives you 10 minutes of basic chat a day.
- A long plan more than halves the price. A year of Speak costs less than five months paid month by month.
- Praktika's price is hard to pin down. Its App Store listing shows ten Premium purchases, and its website gives only a rough figure.
Only Speak teaches a Chinese course
All three apps let you talk to an AI tutor in Mandarin, but only Speak builds a course around it. Praktika and Talkpal sell one app for every language, with the same tutors, modes and lessons.
Here's how they compare, with SayMei, ours, for reference:
Speak- Best for
- Beginners who want a speaking course
- Chinese course
- Yes: beginner to B1, in Simplified characters
- Tones
- Taught by ear first; no stated check
- Free
- A 7-day trial, with a card
- Price, checked Oct 16, 2026
- $17.99 a month or $83.99 a year; Premium Plus $39.99 or $164.99
Praktika- Best for
- Chatting with an avatar tutor
- Chinese course
- No: Chinese is one of 14 languages
- Tones
- Scores your pronunciation; never mentions tones
- Free
- 3 tutors and basic feedback
- Price, checked Oct 16, 2026
- $9.99 for a month on the App Store; "~$8/month" on its site
Talkpal- Best for
- Free daily practice
- Chinese course
- No: one of 130+ languages
- Tones
- A pronunciation tool on Premium; tones only on its blog
- Free
- 10 minutes of basic chat a day
- Price, checked Oct 16, 2026
- $19.99 a month, $119.99 for a year or $149.99 for 2 years
SayMei- Best for
- Spoken lessons sorted by HSK level
- Chinese course
- Lessons for HSK 1 to 6, in a browser
- Tones
- Corrected as you talk; no scores
- Free
- A free first lesson or a free week, by country
- Price, checked Oct 16, 2026
- $5.99 a month for 200 minutes
Sources: each app's US App Store listing, website and help pages, and Talkpal's and SayMei's pricing pages, all checked Oct 16, 2026.
If you want to be taught, Speak is the only real choice of the three. If you just want someone to talk to, any of them will do, and Talkpal lets you start free.
Speak's Chinese course runs from zero to B1
Speak launched Chinese in June and called it its most-requested language for years. The course runs from beginner to intermediate, B1 on the European CEFR scale, and teaches Simplified Chinese to English speakers.
Each unit follows the same pattern, Speak says:
- A pronunciation lesson that drills the unit's words.
- Simulated conversations, where you use those words to get something done, at a boba shop, a souvenir stall or in a taxi.
- Explanation cards and short videos on grammar and culture.
Later units move to harder talk, such as negotiating a lease. A restaurant course even has you order by scanning a QR code, as people do across China.
Here's Speak's own picture of its tone lessons, from the launch post:

Speak's roleplays put you in a scene with an animated character. We found no screens of a Chinese one, so here's a roleplay from its French course:

Two gaps stand out. The launch post never mentions HSK, the Chinese proficiency exam, and it promised "more on the way this summer". We found no later post saying what arrived.
Speak's App Store listing is still catching up, too. Its subtitle now names Chinese, but all nine of its iPhone images show the Spanish course.
For a beginner, that's plenty to start with. If you can already hold a conversation, or you're aiming at an HSK exam, Speak has little for you yet.
None of the three shows it can check your tones
We read every page each app publishes about its feedback, looking for one promise: that it tells you when a tone is wrong. Only Talkpal makes it, and only on its blog. We found no independent test of any of them.
Here's what each one says, and where:
App · Verdict · What it says about tones · Where we read it
SpeakNot stated
Trains your ear first, with a pronunciation lesson in every unit
Its launch post, App Store listing and help pages
PraktikaNot mentioned
Scores pronunciation, rhythm and fluency, with no word on tones
Its website, App Store listing and help center
TalkpalBlog only
A blog post says it checks your "tone accuracy"
One Talkpal blog post; not its pricing page or listing
SayMeiIn conversation
Mei Lin corrects your tones as you talk, with no score
Our own lessons
Sources: the pages named in each row, read Oct 16, 2026, and listed under Sources below.
Speak comes closest. Its App Store listing promises an assessment of "pronunciation, intonation, and fluency", for every language. But its help page says the Pronunciation Coach, its detailed pronunciation tool, is only for people learning English.
In Speak's other courses, an answer you say aloud gets a green check:

Why is this so hard? Speech recognition turns your voice into the most likely words, and context can cover a slip. Here's a classic one:
- I want to ask you: 我想问你.
- I want to kiss you: 我想吻你.
Say 问 with a third tone instead of a fourth, and you've said the second. A recognizer that leans on context may still write "ask", and your mistake disappears.
Speak's own engineers have described this problem. A May 2026 post on Speak's blog explains that speech recognition is built to tidy up what you meant, which hides the slips a learner needs to see.
Research points the same way. A review of 15 studies compared how much speech-recognition practice improved different parts of learners' pronunciation:
Source: Ngo, Chen and Lai's 2024 meta-analysis in ReCALL. The authors call 0.82 a large effect and 0.37 a small one.
Tones are pitch, and pitch is where this kind of feedback has helped least. Those studies were of English learners, so read this as a warning, not a verdict on any app.
Our advice: use these apps to get lots of speaking done, and check your tones another way. Our guide to learning tones shows how to train your ear.
Praktika is a tutor for any language
Praktika is built around lifelike avatar tutors you talk to by voice. Chinese is one of 14 languages it lists, and its help center says it teaches every language at every level, from your first word to mastery.
As far as we can tell from its pages, you get the same app in Chinese as in any other language:
- Avatar tutors with their own personalities, who explain in your own language when you're starting out.
- Lessons sorted by goal, such as travel, careers and job interviews, plus role-plays. Some, like IELTS and TOEFL prep, are plainly for English.
- Lessons from your own material: upload a photo, a PDF or a voice note, and it builds a lesson around it.
- Corrections you can tune to soft, balanced or strict, on pronunciation, grammar and word choice.
Its feedback scores how you sounded. In its own App Store image, an English sentence gets marks for completeness, rhythm and fluency:

The free version is real but small. Praktika's help center says free users get 3 tutors, core practice and basic feedback. Premium unlocks every tutor and mode, and the advanced feedback.
Its price is hard to pin down. The US App Store lists ten Premium purchases from $6.99 to $139.99, and some don't say how long they last.
The clearly labelled ones include $9.99 for a month and $119.99 for a year. Praktika's homepage says about $8 a month, so we'd check the price the app shows you before you pay.
We'd pick Praktika if you want a patient tutor to chat with, and don't need a Chinese course behind it.
Talkpal has the clearest free plan
Talkpal is a general AI conversation app for 130+ languages, Chinese among them. Its free Basic plan is the only one of the three with a stated allowance: 10 minutes of basic chat a day.
Its modes cover a lot of ground:
- Chat and Call modes for open conversation, typed or spoken.
- Word, Sentence and Dialogue modes for drilling vocabulary, grammar and set phrases.
- Roleplays, Characters and Debates for practice inside a scene, with a famous figure or around an argument.
What it lacks is anything built for Chinese. We found no Chinese course or HSK path: its Chinese page is a general sales page, and its Chinese grammar pages are articles, not lessons.
Pronunciation feedback is a Premium feature. On Talkpal's pricing page, the pronunciation assessment tool is crossed out on the free plan. The only example we found in its App Store images is an English sentence:

Only one Talkpal blog post says its speech recognition checks "tone accuracy". Its pricing page and App Store listing promise pronunciation corrections, but never mention tones.
Premium costs $19.99 a month, or as little as $6.24 a month on its longest plan.
Each Premium plan starts with a 14-day free trial, and the page says there's no payment today.
We'd start here if your budget is zero. Ten minutes a day is short, but it's enough to find out whether talking to an AI suits you.
A long plan cuts the price by more than half
Speak and Talkpal charge far less a month if you commit for a year or more. Here's what each costs a month by our sums, from the longest plan to paying month by month:
A long plan cuts Speak's and Talkpal's monthly price by more than half
Left end: the longest plan's price per month. Right end: paying month by month. US prices, checked 16 October 2026.
| App and plan | US$ a month | Longest plan |
|---|---|---|
| 5.99 | Monthly only | |
| 6.24–19.99 | 2 years, $149.99 | |
| 7.00–17.99 | 1 year, $83.99 | |
| 9.99 | Not clear | |
| 13.75–39.99 | 1 year, $164.99 |
Sources: Speak's and Praktika's US App Store listings; Talkpal's and SayMei's pricing pages. Praktika shows its 1-month price only, because its listing doesn't make clear which yearly price you'll be offered. SayMei's $5.99 buys 200 minutes a month; the others don't sell practice by the minute.
If you're unsure, don't buy a year up front. Use a free trial or a free plan first, then commit.
Speak's two plans share the course, roleplays, tutor and review. Premium Plus adds a personal study plan, practice on your frequent mistakes and unlimited custom lessons, Speak's help page says. For a beginner working through the course, we think Premium is enough.
Watch the trial terms. Speak's 7-day trial needs a payment method, and its help page says you're charged unless you cancel at least a day before it ends.
Pick by how you want to practise
The right app depends on whether you want a teacher, a chat partner or a free habit:
- Speak, best for beginners who want a course. It tells you what to say next and builds you up from zero.
- Praktika, best for chatting with a patient tutor. It suits you if you like a character to talk to, with help in your own language.
- Talkpal, best for free daily practice. Its free plan gives you a little talk every day, and its long plans are cheap.
- None of the three, if you're studying for HSK. None follows HSK levels, so pair any of them with our HSK exam guide.
If tones worry you most, add a human ear now and then. A tutor on italki costs about $20 an hour, the median of 783 Chinese teachers we read.
For six more AI tutors, including SuperChinese, ChatGPT and Gemini, read our comparison of the best AI apps for Chinese.
Where SayMei fits
SayMei is our app, and it does one thing these three don't: spoken lessons sorted by HSK level. Mei Lin, your AI teacher, talks with you at your level and corrects your tones and grammar as you go.
SayMei Premium is $5.99 a month for 200 minutes with her.
We'll be plain about where it loses:
- No app. SayMei runs in a web browser, with no offline mode.
- Fewer minutes. 200 minutes a month is about 6½ minutes a day, while Talkpal and Praktika Premium don't cap your practice.
- No scores. Tone corrections happen inside the conversation, with no pronunciation score afterwards.
- Less free time. Talkpal's free minutes every day add up to far more than SayMei's free start.
If you want a course on your phone, Speak does that better. If you want to talk free every day, Talkpal does.
What to do next
- Try before you pay. Start Speak's trial or Talkpal's free plan, and talk every day for a week.
- Test the tone feedback yourself. Say 糖, sugar, when the app expects 汤, soup, and see whether it notices.
- Buy a long plan only once you're sure. It's far cheaper, but it's a big bet on an app you've just met.
- Check your tones another way. A tone-pair drill or a tutor now and then catches what apps miss.
- Plan for after B1. If you choose Speak, line up something for when its course runs out.
To compare more AI tutors side by side, read our guide to the best AI apps for Chinese.
FAQ
Is Speak good for learning Chinese?
For beginners who want to start speaking, yes. Speak's Chinese course launched in June 2026 and runs from zero to intermediate, B1, with a pronunciation lesson and simulated conversations in every unit.
It's a speaking course. We found no character-writing practice in what Speak describes, it doesn't follow HSK levels, and past B1 it has nothing yet.
Does Speak correct your Chinese tones?
It teaches them, but it doesn't say it checks them. Speak's launch post describes training your ear first, with sets like 汤, soup, and 糖, sugar.
Its App Store listing promises feedback on pronunciation and intonation for every language, and its Pronunciation Coach is for English learners only. We found no independent test of its tone feedback.
How much does Speak cost, and is there a free version?
There's no free plan, only a one-week free trial that needs a payment method. On the US App Store, Premium costs $17.99 a month or $83.99 a year.
Premium Plus costs $39.99 a month or $164.99 a year, and adds a personal study plan and unlimited custom lessons. Speak says prices vary by country and promotion.
Is Talkpal good for learning Chinese?
For free conversation practice, it's a reasonable start: the free plan gives you 10 minutes of basic chat a day, in Mandarin or any of 130+ languages.
But Talkpal has no Chinese course or HSK path, and its pronunciation assessment is a Premium feature. Only its blog, not its product pages, says it checks tones.
Does Praktika teach Chinese?
Yes. Praktika lists Simplified Chinese among its 14 languages, and says it teaches every language from complete beginner to mastery.
It's the same avatar-tutor app as in its other languages, with no Chinese course and nothing about tones on its pages. Its free version includes 3 tutors and basic feedback, and Premium unlocks the rest.
Speak vs Praktika: which is better for Chinese?
Speak, for most beginners, because it's the only one with a Chinese course and tone lessons. Praktika suits you better if you'd rather chat freely with an avatar tutor than follow a course.
Speak costs $17.99 a month. Praktika's App Store listing shows many prices, so check what the app offers you before paying.
Talkpal vs Speak: which should I choose?
Choose Speak if you want a course that teaches you from zero, and Talkpal if you want free or cheap practice.
Speak's Chinese course has tone lessons and costs $83.99 a year.
Talkpal has no Chinese course, but it gives you 10 free minutes a day, and its longest plan works out at $6.24 a month.
Which AI app checks Chinese tones best?
No app has shown in public that it checks tones reliably, including these three. Speech recognition guesses the likeliest words, so a wrong tone can slip through.
A review of 15 studies found that speech-recognition practice helps individual sounds far more than pitch. Pair any app with tone drills, or a tutor now and then.
Sources
Checked 16 October 2026 unless noted. No accounts were created and nothing was bought.
Speak
- Speak, "Chinese now available on Speak" (2 June 2026): the course, its levels, units and tone lessons, and the launch image
- Speak on the App Store: description, subtitle, in-app prices and listing images
- speak.com: the free trial, plans and pricing note
- Speak Help: What languages can I learn with Speak? (3 July 2026); Premium vs Premium Plus (7 November 2025); Is a free trial available? (27 May 2026)
- Speak's blog on speech recognition for learners (7 May 2026)
Praktika
- Praktika on the App Store: description, in-app prices and listing images
- praktika.ai: features and its price claim
- Praktika Help Center: Which languages can I study on Praktika?; Is there a free version? (1 September 2026)
Talkpal
- Talkpal pricing: plans, prices and the free plan
- Talkpal on the App Store: description, modes, in-app prices and listing images
- Talkpal's Learn Chinese page; Talkpal's blog post on Chinese tones (updated 26 December 2025)
SayMei and other guides
- SayMei: pricing
- italki's median tutor price: online Chinese tutors compared
Research
- Ngo, T. T.-N., Chen, H. H.-J. & Lai, K. K.-W. (2024). The effectiveness of automatic speech recognition in ESL/EFL pronunciation: a meta-analysis. ReCALL 36(1). doi:10.1017/s0958344023000113
Other reviews
- LanguaTalk's Speak review (updated 19 February 2026) and Headway's Speak review (updated 9 September 2026): the two Speak reviews at the top of our search
Methods
We read Speak's, Praktika's and Talkpal's websites, help centers and US App Store listings on 16 October 2026, along with Speak's launch post and engineering blog. We didn't subscribe, sign in or take lessons, so every feature here is what the company says, and we name the page that says it.
- Prices are US prices from each App Store listing or pricing page. Other countries, and sales, can differ.
- The cost chart spreads each app's longest plan over its months for the left end, and uses the 1-month price for the right end.
- The tone verdicts are our reading of each app's own pages. "Not stated" means we found no page that says the app checks tones.
- The screenshots are Speak's launch image, Praktika's and Talkpal's own App Store images, and two iOS screens of Speak's French course, all shown unedited for review.
- The search check used the query "speak app review" on 16 October 2026.
- The Mandarin examples were checked against the CC-CEDICT dictionary.
If you spot a mistake, tell us: we fix errors.